Federal Engineer of the Year Award Celebrates 40th Anniversary with Top 10 Exceptional Engineers

Release Status: 
Contact Name: 
Sean Woods
Contact Number: 
Thursday, January 31, 2019

As the need to appreciate federal workers grows, engineers in federal government continue working behind the scenes to ensure public safety across the country and around the world.

In celebration of their efforts, the National Society of Professional Engineers is proud to recognize 10 finalists for the prestigious Federal Engineer of the Year Award. These engineers work tirelessly to improve the nation’s infrastructure, protect drinking water, support military operations and national security, ensure the reliability of critical systems and electrical grids to prevent blackouts, and address health issues through sanitation improvements, among many other life-saving projects.

Now in its 40th year, FEYA is the only award recognizing the exceptional achievements of engineers employed in the federal government. The FEYA winner will be announced during a luncheon ceremony on February 22 at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C. This year, NSPE is honored to announce that Rear Admiral Edward M. Dieser, P.E., Chief Engineer Officer of the U.S. Public Health Service, will serve as keynote speaker.

The nominees for 2019 continue the legacy of representing the best and brightest engineers employed in the public sector. This year’s Federal Engineer of the Year Top 10 finalists are:

  • LCDR Debora Cox, P.E., U.S. Public Health Service, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency;
  • MAJ Justin Delorit, Ph.D., P.E., U.S. Department of the Air Force, 8th Civil Engineer Squadron;
  • CAPT Dustin Gooden, P.E, U.S. Department of the Air Force, Air Mobility Command;
  • CAPT David Harvey, P.E, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Indian Health Service;
  • Melanie Kito, P.E., U.S. Department of the Navy, Naval Facilities Engineering Command;
  • LT Kristen Krushinski, P.E., U.S. Department of the Navy; Naval Facilities Engineering Command;
  • James Landreth, P.E. U.S. Department of Homeland Security, U.S. Coast Guard;
  • Marjorie Parsons, P.E., Tennessee Valley Authority;
  • Robert Ware, P.E., U.S. Department of the Air Force, Air Force Research Laboratory; and
  • Daniel Wilcoxen, P.E., U.S. Department of the Air Force, Air Force Special Operations Command.

A panel of judges established by NSPE’s Professional Engineers in Government selects the FEYA winner. Hailing from various federal agencies, departments, and military branches, the nominated engineers are evaluated based on factors such as engineering achievements, education, professional and technical society activities, awards and honors, and civic and humanitarian activities.

The 2019 award winner will be announced at a ceremony on February 22, beginning at 1:00 p.m. Invited guests include all nominees and their agency heads or commanders; leaders from engineering associations; members of Congress and their staff; members of the judging panel; and local media. Tickets are $75 per person. For more information about the FEYA program or to order tickets, contact Erin Reyes, or visit www.nspe.org/FEYA.

Additional Notes: 

The National Society of Professional Engineers is the national society of licensed professional engineers from all disciplines that promotes the ethical and competent practice of engineering, advocates licensure, and enhances the image and well-being of its members. Founded in 1934, NSPE serves more than 26,000 members and the public through 52 state and territorial societies and just over 400 chapters. For more information, please visit www.nspe.org.

EDITOR’S NOTE: Complimentary press passes are available for the event. Please contact Sean Woods at 703-684-2804 for additional details and information.