QBS Award

Deadline for nominations: March 7
Download a nomination form with instructions.

Every year, we administer the QBS Awards, recognizing public and private entities that make exemplary use of the Qualifications-Based Selection process at the federal, state and local levels. QBS Award winners serve as examples of how well the QBS process works, and they help us promote the practice of QBS in jurisdictions that do not use, or underutilize, QBS to procure engineering services.

Three QBS Awards
A maximum of one QBS Award shall be presented in each of the following categories:

  • Federal Government Sector
  • State Government Sector
  • Nongovernment Sector

Nominations may originate from an NSPE State Society, an ACEC Member Organization, a public or private entity, or an individual in the public or private sector. Self-nomination is not permitted.

Each nomination shall require, before submission, the signed endorsement of both the NSPE State Society and the ACEC Member Organization of the nominee’s state or region. Nominations submitted that do not meet this requirement shall be returned for the necessary endorsements, and if such are not forthcoming, the nomination shall be disqualified.

Nongovernmental entities and individuals eligible for nomination include, but are not limited to, private corporations, privately funded research labs, private utility companies, design professionals, construction contractors, developers, and any nongovernmental entity that uses design professionals’ services on a regular basis.

Governmental entities eligible for nomination include, but are not limited to, federal governmental departments or agencies, state governmental departments or agencies, municipalities, local governments, school districts, university systems, public utility systems, publicly funded research laboratories, and special purpose districts.

The QBS Award winner will have an opportunity to receive an engraved trophy and will be recognized during the 2018 NSPE Professional Engineers Conference (PECON) in July 2018 at Caesars Palace in Las Vegas. In addition to the main QBS Award, the QBS Awards program generally designates up to four Merit Award winners, who will each be presented with a plaque at a state-level event.

To learn more, please see the nomination form.

» See a complete list of recipients.