Ten Federal Engineers Recognized for High-Caliber Achievements

Release Status: 
Contact Name: 
Stacey A. Ober
Contact Number: 
Tuesday, January 27, 2015

Engineers in the federal government are continually on the cutting edge of their profession. Whether it’s supporting military operations and facilities in the U.S. and abroad; exploring new methods of energy conservation; securing our water resources and infrastructure; developing new propulsion technologies for space exploration; preserving infrastructure and resources in our national parks; or, ensuring nuclear facility safety, these are just some of the awesome responsibilities of the 10 high-caliber finalists for this year’s Federal Engineer of the Year Award.

Presented by the National Society of Professional Engineers, and now in its 36th year, this award is the only one of its kind to solely recognize outstanding engineers employed in the federal government. The FEYA winner will be announced during a luncheon ceremony on February 26 at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C. This year, NSPE is honored to announce that Victor Mendez, the United States Deputy Secretary of Transportation, will serve as keynote speaker.

This year’s nominees continue the legacy of representing the best and brightest engineers employed in the public sector. The 2015 Federal Engineer of the Year Top 10 finalists are:

  • Timothy Bayse, P.E., U.S. Department of the Navy, Naval Facilities Engineering Command;
  • CDR David Allen Engelstad, P.E., U.S. Department of the Interior, National Park Service, Yosemite National Park;
  • Khamis Haramy, E.I.T., Federal Highway Administration, Central Federal Lands Highway Division;
  • LCDR Ryszard “Rich” Kaczmarek USN, CEC, P.E., U.S. Department of the Navy, Navy Sea Systems Command;
  • David Mazurek, Ph.D., P.E., U.S. Coast Guard Academy;
  • Lt. Col. Patrick Miller, P.E., U.S. Air Force, 628th Civil Engineer Squadron;
  • George Schmidt, Ph.D., P.E., National Aeronautics and Space Administration, Glenn Research Center;
  • Eric Warner, P.E., CEM, CFM, U.S. Air Force, 374th Airlift Wing;
  • Kathleen White, Ph.D., P.E., U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Institute for Water Resources; and
  • Cyril Williams, Ph.D., P.E., U.S. Department of the Army, U.S. Army Research Laboratory.

A panel of judges established by NSPE’s Professional Engineers in Government selects the FEYA winner. Hailing from various federal agencies, departments, and military branches, the nominated engineers are evaluated based on factors such as engineering achievements, education, professional and technical society activities, awards and honors, and civic and humanitarian activities.

The 2015 award winner will be announced at a ceremony on February 26, beginning at 12:30 p.m. Invited guests include all nominees and their agency heads or commanders; leaders from engineering associations; members of Congress and their staff; members of the judging panel; and local media and journalists. Tickets are $70 per person. For more information about the FEYA program or to order tickets, contact Erin Reyes at egarcia@nspe.org, or visit www.nspe.org/FEYA.

Additional Notes: 

The National Society of Professional Engineers is the national society of licensed professional engineers from all disciplines that promotes the ethical and competent practice of engineering, advocates licensure, and enhances the image and well-being of its members. Founded in 1934, NSPE serves more than 35,000 members and the public through 52 state and territorial societies and just over 400 chapters. For more information, please visit www.nspe.org.

EDITOR’S NOTE: Complimentary press passes are available for the event. Please contact Stacey Ober at 703-684-2815 or sober@nspe.org for additional details and information.