Ten Federal Engineers Honored for Outstanding Contributions to Society

Release Status: 
Contact Name: 
Stacey A. Ober
Contact Number: 
Friday, February 1, 2013

Engineers in the federal government play a vital role in protecting the health and safety of the public, and are continually working on the latest advancements and innovations to improve our society. They direct natural disaster recovery and mitigation efforts; assist in humanitarian projects in some of the most remote corners of the globe; ensure equipment and personnel safety within our military forces; research ways to improve air quality and reduce pollution; manage uranium enrichment and nuclear fuels; and work to improve the safety of drinking water systems around the world. These are just some of the responsibilities of the 10 high-caliber finalists from this year's Federal Engineer of the Year Award program.

Presented by the National Society of Professional Engineers, and now in its 34th year, this award is the only one of its kind to solely recognize outstanding engineers employed in the federal government. On February 21, during the Federal Engineer of the Year Award luncheon at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C., the 2013 FEYA winner will be announced. This year, NSPE is honored to announce that U.S. Surgeon General Dr. Regina M. Benjamin will serve as keynote speaker.

This year's nominees continue the legacy of representing the best and brightest engineers employed by the public sector. The 2013 Federal Engineer of the Year Top 10 finalists are:

  • Robert Anderson, P.E., U.S. Department of Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation Service;
  • CDR Joseph Dugan, P.E., U.S. Department of Homeland Security, U.S. Coast Guard;
  • CAPT Richard Gelting, P.E., U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, Centers for Disease Control & Prevention;
  • Ronald Goldman, P.E., U.S. Department of the Army, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers;
  • LCDR LaKeeva Gunderson, E.I.T., U.S. Department of the Navy, Naval Facilities Engineering Command;
  • LT COL Michael Klapmeyer, P.E., U.S. Department of the Air Force, Air Force Space Command;
  • Todd Martin, P.E., U.S. Department of the Air Force, Air Mobility Command;
  • Predrag "Mick" Mastilovic, P.E., Tennessee Valley Authority;
  • John Schmelzle, P.E., U.S. Department of the Navy, Naval War Airfare Center Aircraft Division; and
  • Joshua Tomblin, P.E., U.S. Department of the Navy, Naval Facilities Engineering Command.

A panel of judges established by NSPE's Professional Engineers in Government selects the FEYA winner. Hailing from various federal agencies, departments, and military branches, the nominated engineers are evaluated based on factors such as engineering achievements, education, professional and technical society activities, awards and honors, and civic and humanitarian activities.

The 2013 award winner will be announced at a ceremony on February 21, beginning at 12:30 p.m. Invited guests include all nominees and their agency heads or commanders; leaders from engineering associations; members of Congress and their staff; members of the judging panel; and local media and journalists. Tickets are $60 per person. For more information about the FEYA program or to order tickets, contact Erin Reyes at egarcia@nspe.org, or visit www.nspe.org/FEYA.

Additional Notes: 

The National Society of Professional Engineers is the national society of licensed professional engineers from all disciplines that promotes the ethical and competent practice of engineering, advocates licensure, and enhances the image and well-being of its members. Founded in 1934, NSPE serves more than 35,000 members and the public through 53 state and territorial societies and more than 400 chapters. For more information, please visit www.nspe.org.

EDITOR'S NOTE: Complimentary press passes are available for the event. Please contact Stacey Ober at 703-684-2815 or sober@nspe.org for additional details and information.