Society Selects Top 10 Federal Engineers of the Year

Release Status: 
Contact Name: 
Stacey Ober
Contact Number: 
Sunday, February 11, 2007

The National Society of Professional Engineers has selected the top 10 finalists for its prestigious 28th Annual Federal Engineer of the Year Award program. The FEYA winner will be announced during a ceremony on February 22 at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C.

Sponsored by NSPE's Professional Engineers in Government, the award program is the only one of its kind that recognizes outstanding engineers employed in the federal government. Of the 91,000 individuals identified by the U.S. Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics as federally employed engineers, only 26 were nominated and only one of the 10 finalists will be selected for the award. This year's candidates are

    * Eugene T. Camponeschi, P.E., Program Manager, Carderock Division, Naval Surface Warfare Center, Survivability, Structures, and Materials Department, West Bethesda, Md.;
    * Lt. Cmdr. Dennis C. Evans, P.E., USCG Air Station Borinquen Public Works Officer, U.S. Coast Guard/Department of Homeland Security, Aguadilla, Puerto Rico;
    * Jeffrey Ger, P.E., Division Bridge Engineer, Department of Transportation, Federal Highway Administration, Florida Division, Tallahassee, Fla.;
    * Blair P. Greimann, P.E., Hydraulic Engineer, Department of the Interior, Bureau of Reclamation, Denver Office, Denver, Colo.
    * Dawn Hayes, Ph.D., P.E., Environmental Engineer, Department of Defense, Department of the Navy, Naval Facilities Engineering Command, Norfolk, Va.;
    * Maj. Clarence Barton "Bart" Kemper III, P.E., Facilities/Contract Construction Management Engineer, 412th Engineering Command, U.S. Army, Vicksburg, Miss.;
    * Cmdr. Kenneth R. Mead, P.E., Research Mechanical Engineer, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, Cincinnati, Ohio;
    * Jeffrey H. Nelson, P.E., Principle, Electrical Engineer, Tennessee Valley Authority Power System Operations/Electric Systems Projects, Chattanooga, Tenn.;
    * Maj. Kevin L. Parker, P.E., Executive Officer to the U.S. Air Forces in Europe Civil Engineer, Department of Defense, U.S. Air Force, Ramstein Air Base, Germany; and
    * Garrett D. Polhamus, Ph.D., P.E., Chief, Directed Energy Bioeffects Division, Air Force Research Laboratory/Human Effectiveness Directorate, Brooks City-Base, Texas.

A panel of judges established by PEG selects the FEYA winner based on education, continuing education, professional and technical society activities, awards and honors, civic and humanitarian activities, and engineering achievements.

The 2006 Federal Engineer of the Year was Cmdr. John Cardarelli II, P.E. Cardarelli works as a health physicist with the Environmental Protection Agency on public health research. He served as the principal investigator of a national study to determine potential radiation exposures to Transportation Security Administration screeners. Preliminary findings were published, along with engineering recommendations that could reduce radiation exposures by up to 50 percent. In addition, he serves on three national committees dedicated to protecting workers and the public from radiation exposures.

The 2007 award winner will be announced at a ceremony on February 22, beginning at 1 p.m. Tickets are $55 per person. For more information about the FEYA program or to order tickets, contact Marcia Prichard at

Additional Notes: 

The National Society of Professional Engineers is the national society for licensed professional engineers from all disciplines that promotes the ethical and competent practice of engineering, advocates licensure, and enhances the image and well-being of its members. Founded in 1934, NSPE serves more than 50,000 members and the public through 53 state and territorial societies and more than 500 chapters.