Outstanding Federal Engineers Receive "Top 10" Recognition

Release Status: 
Contact Name: 
Stacey A. Ober
Contact Number: 
Tuesday, February 1, 2011

Engineers in the federal government do extraordinary things. They manage the reconstruction of schools, drinking water facilities, and electricity infrastructure for millions of people in Iraq; they are the first responders to disasters like the earthquake in Haiti; and they ensure the success of military operations here and abroad. These are just some of the day-to-day responsibilities performed by the 10 high-caliber finalists for the Federal Engineer of the Year Award.

Presented by the National Society of Professional Engineers and now in its 32nd year, this award is the only one of its kind to solely recognize outstanding engineers employed in the federal government. On February 24, during the Federal Engineer of the Year Award luncheon at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C., the 2011 FEYA winner will be announced. This year, NSPE is honored to announce that Rear Admiral Christopher J. Mossey, P.E., CEC, USN Commander, Naval Facilities Engineering Command Chief of Civil Engineers, will serve as keynote speaker. 

This year's nominees continue to represent the high caliber of engineers employed in the public sector. The 2011 Federal Engineer of the Year Top 10 finalists are:

  • Gordon S. Bjorkman Jr., Ph.D., P.E., U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards;
  • MAJ Scott M. Breece, P.E., U.S. Air Force, Headquarters U.S. Air Forces in Europe (HQ USAFE); 
  • Angela L. DeSoto-Duncan, P.E., U.S. Department of the Army, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers; 
  • CDR G. Scott Gesele, P.E., U.S. Department of Homeland Security, U.S. Coast Guard; 
  • Daryl Hammond, Ph.D., P.E., U.S. Air Force, Headquarters Air Force Civil Engineer Support Agency; 
  • LTC Robert F. Hynes, Ph.D., P.E., U.S. Department of the Army, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers; 
  • Randal L. Petty, P.E., Tennessee Valley Authority; 
  • Vincent P. Sobash, P.E., U.S. Department of the Navy, Naval Facilities Engineering Command; 
  • CDR Machelle Vieux, P.E., U.S. Department of the Navy, Naval Facilities Engineering Command; and 
  • Jerry D. Walker, P.E., U.S. Department of Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation Service;

A panel of judges established by NSPE's Professional Engineers in Government selects the FEYA winner. Hailing from various federal agencies, departments, and military branches, the nominated engineers are evaluated based on factors such as engineering achievements, education, professional and technical society activities, awards and honors, and civic and humanitarian activities.

The 2011 award winner will be announced at a ceremony on February 24, beginning at 12:30 p.m. Invited guests include all nominees and their agency heads or commanders; leaders from engineering associations; members of Congress and their staff; members of the judging panel; and local media and journalists. Tickets are $60 per person. For more information about the FEYA program or to order tickets, contact Erin Garcia at egarcia@nspe.org, or visit www.nspe.org/FEYA.

Additional Notes: 

The National Society of Professional Engineers is the national society of licensed professional engineers from all disciplines that promotes the ethical and competent practice of engineering, advocates licensure, and enhances the image and well-being of its members. Founded in 1934, NSPE has been promoting professional excellence for over 75 years. NSPE serves more than 43,000 members and the public through 53 state and territorial societies and more than 500 chapters. For more information, please visit www.nspe.org.