Honoring Outstanding Engineers in Government

Release Status: 
Contact Name: 
Stacey A. Ober
Contact Number: 
Friday, January 31, 2014

Whether its directing national or global disaster recovery and mitigation efforts; maintaining power stability and efficiency of vital infrastructure; providing airfield and weapons expertise to support military operations; identifying and reducing occupational hazards; or instructing the future generations of military civil engineers, these are just some of the responsibilities of the 10 high-caliber finalists for this year’s Federal Engineer of the Year Award program.

Presented by the National Society of Professional Engineers, and now in its 35th year, this award is the only one of its kind to solely recognize outstanding engineers employed in the federal government. The FEYA winner will be announced during a luncheon ceremony on February 20 at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C.

This year's nominees continue the legacy of representing the best and brightest engineers employed by the public sector. The 2014 Federal Engineer of the Year Top 10 finalists are:

  • Timothy Callahan, P.E., U.S. Air Force, Air Force Institute of Technology;
  • LCDR John Doug Herrin, P.E., U.S. Department of the Navy, Naval Facilities Engineering Command;
  • Dr. Donald Malloy, P.E., U.S. Air Force, Air Force Materiel Command;
  • John Casey Scoggins, P.E., Tennessee Valley Authority;
  • Dr. Rickey Shyne, P.E., National Aeronautics and Space Administration, Glenn Research Center;
  • Bronson Smart, P.E., U.S. Department of Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation Service;
  • Wilbert Smith, P.E., U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, Food & Drug Administration;
  • Joseph Woliver, P.E., U.S. Department of the Navy, Naval Facilities Engineering Command;
  • CDR Edward Zechmann, P.E., U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, Centers for Disease Control & Prevention; and
  • Michael Zoccola, P.E., U.S. Department of the Army, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers.

A panel of judges established by NSPE’s Professional Engineers in Government selects the FEYA winner. Hailing from various federal agencies, departments, and military branches, the nominated engineers are evaluated based on factors such as engineering achievements, education, professional and technical society activities, awards and honors, and civic and humanitarian activities.

The 2014 award winner will be announced at a ceremony on February 20, beginning at 12:30 p.m. Invited guests include all nominees and their agency heads or commanders; leaders from engineering associations; members of Congress and their staff; members of the judging panel; and local media and journalists. Tickets are $70 per person. For more information about the FEYA program or to order tickets, contact Erin Reyes at egarcia@nspe.org, or visit www.nspe.org/FEYA.

Additional Notes: 

The National Society of Professional Engineers is the national society of licensed professional engineers from all disciplines that promotes the ethical and competent practice of engineering, advocates licensure, and enhances the image and well-being of its members. Founded in 1934, NSPE serves more than 35,000 members and the public through 53 state and territorial societies and just over 400 chapters. For more information, please visit www.nspe.org.

EDITOR’S NOTE: Complimentary press passes are available for the event. Please contact Stacey Ober at 703-684-2815 or sober@nspe.org for additional details and information.