Outstanding PEs Honored as Fellows

Summer 2021

NSPE Today
Outstanding PEs Honored as Fellows

By demonstrating exemplary and devoted service to their profession, the Society, and their community, 12 professional engineers have been honored as NSPE’s newest class of Fellow members.

Requirements for the designation include holding at least one elected office at any level and active involvement at the national level.

NSPE state and territorial societies can nominate one person for each 500 voting members on their rolls per year. Nominations are also open to NSPE interest groups, chartered affinity groups, and the board of directors. Since its establishment in 2000, slightly more than one percent of all NSPE members have advanced to this highest volunteer membership rank.

2021 NSPE Fellows

Susan Best, P.E. (PA)

PSPE president, 2020–21; chapter board member; member NSPE’s Professional Engineers Conference Planning Task Force; 30 years in transportation and traffic engineering

Lee Czor, P.E. (KY)

Active member of KSPE’s Bluegrass Chapter; KSPE president, 2015–16; member NSPE House of Delegates; principal engineer for Geotechnology Inc.

Beth Fifield Hodgson, P.E. (WA)

Past president of WSPE; chair of Western & Pacific Region; member NSPE House of Delegates; founder and president of Spring Environmental in Spokane

Erin Gates, P.E. (WY)

Active member of Cheyenne Chapter; WySPE board member; member NSPE House of Delegates; project engineer at BenchMark Engineers P.C.

Angela Hanz, P.E. (WI)

Active member of Wisconsin Valley and Southwest chapters; WSPE past president; member NSPE House of Delegates; research facilities engineering group leader for US Forest Service

Kiel Johnson, P.E. (KS)

Active member of Eastern Chapter; KSPE Executive Committee member, member NSPE’s Professional Engineers Conference Planning Task Force; manager of Developer Services Department for WaterOne

Sharon Kimbrough, P.E. (AL)

ASPE past president; member NSPE House of Delegates; senior project engineer for Overstreet & Associates LLC

Matt Kruse, P.E. (NE)

Active in chapter-level MATHCOUNTS; Nebraska Society past president; chair of NSPE’s Continuing Education Committee; Roadway and Traffic Practice Group leader for Lamp Rynearson

Brian Malm, P.E. (MN)

Southeast Chapter president; MnSPE president; NSPE Board of Directors and Membership Committee; principal project manager for Bolton & Menk Inc.

Andy Rogers, P.E. (SC)

Active member of Columbia Chapter; SCSPE president, 2017–18; NSPE Membership Committee and Candidate Screening Committee; senior project manager at AECOM

Breck Washam, P.E. (MO)

Active member of St. Louis Chapter; MSPE president, 2015–16; NSPE Board of Directors; senior vice president at Burns & McDonnell

Hardy Willis, P.E. (NC)

President PENC’s West Carolina Chapter; PENC president, 2008–09; NSPE House of Delegates; structural project manager at Vaugh & Melton Engineering Inc.