Nonmember Report Sample
Use the filter on this page to view reports on state PE laws and rules for Alaska.
Digital Signing and Sealing of Engineering Documents
Digital Signing and Sealing of Engineering Documents. The following is a compilation of state laws covering the digital or electronic signing and sealing of engineering documents. It has been developed by the National Society of Professional Engineers to provide detailed information about the breadth and scope of these laws nationwide.
Alaska accepts similar electronic or digital representation of the seal if the registrant includes an original signature and date of signing.
12 AAC 36.180.
The seal authorized for use by professional engineers is of the following design or a substantially similar electronic or digital representation of the design.
12 AAC 36.185. USE OF SEALS.
(d) The registrant shall include the date each time the registrant signs and seals a document by electronically or manually inserting the date within the seal or within two inches of the seal.
(f) An electronic image of a signature may be used on the seal if the registrant or the owner of the documents retains an original copy of the documents, accessible for later reference, that has either
(1) an original hand signature over the seal; or
(2) software in place that will automatically remove or modify the electronic image of the signature if the document is modified.
State Licensing Fees for Professional Engineers
State Licensing Fees for Professional Engineers. NSPE has put together information regarding the fees to apply for PE licensure, renewal, and reinstatement in each state and territory as well as the cost of taking the PE exam in each state. Whether you're pursuing a PE license or you are an established PE, NSPE is here to offer a wealth of resources to our members and the public.
PE Exam: $350
Renewal Type: Biennial
Reinstatement Fee: $100
When Can I Take the PE Exam?
When can I take the PE exam? is one of the most common questions from PE license candidates. The answer varies by state, and in some cases you may be allowed to take the exam sooner than you think.